Baking Life … for real….

Firstly, thanks to my little sis for being the first of my blog readers!  Secondly, the cakes seemed to go down a treat at school.  I did, however, admit to overcooking my chocolate cakes.  Is honesty the best policy?  Who knows.  Let’s face it, who’s gonna come to me and tell me my cakes are crap?!!  A) I’d never lend them my stapler or laminating pouches again, B) I’d cry (it’s that time of year) and C) I’ll still be testing recipes out on them in the new year anyway!! That’s if we make it through the Christmas Trip to the cinema and to our local ‘Living Museum’.  Not to mention the christmas cards, calendars and parties!  (We love it really)

Anyway, the christmas cakes have been started.  I know, I know, I should’ve done them ages ago but I’ve been waiting for the right time to ask for the family recipe.  I’ve got it now (A BIG THANK YOU going out to Catherine McDonald – or MC Donald, as she likes to be called.  I’ve just been reliably informed of this. If I’d known before, she would have been Aunty MCD ages ago.) Anyway, I’ve tweaked the recipe slightly, adding figs, glace cherries, lemon and orange zest and prunes. ALL on Mich Turner’s advice from her great book http://www.lvcc.co.uk/lvcc-books-spectacular.asp –  MMMMmmmmmmm!  The brandy just oozes christmassy smells.  Mixed in with the mushy mess of gorgeous, gooey, sticky fruit it makes me want to wrap presents, crack open the Baileys and listen to Jingle Bell Rock, by The Fall!   Sadly, in the photographs, it looks like bolognese sauce with cheese on!  Haha – it isn’t.  I guaran-damn-tee it!

So, tomorrow, 3.5 hrs of baking ensues.  Times four.  The marzipan is ready to roll and the icing ready to lock in that fruity goodness.  BUT FIRST: 72 hours of languishing in brandy.  Just my sort of pre-christmas!

About Scrap Kittie

A sewing and baking addict, vegetarian animal-lover, teacher. And an avid music fan...all the wrong sorts of music. Hence the blog was nearly called 'Hot Cake' after The Fall's song.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Baking Life … for real….

  1. Katie BB says:

    Does look a bit like spag bog sis… but delicious none the less 🙂
    SAVE ME SOME please. And I know how you feel about the christmas chaos about to ensue (is that a word, sounds rathe blog=esq?!) I feel like we are on Sex and the city, all I need is a glass of wine and some drama about Mr. Big, haha! Anyway, back to blog talk. Yes, the count down is on. I need to get my timings right for air-mail christmas cards. And sis, they bake a lot here… maybe I can get us some German cake recipes to try…. x

  2. mooeleven says:

    One 6 inch beast is baking in the oven RIGHT NOW! I’ll blog when it’s finished! In the meantime, we will be booking flights to Germany soon – I’m dying to get some real Stollen. MMMmmmm. CANNOT wait!

  3. Kelley Bulmer says:

    I am seriously hungrey and everything looks so scrummmmy! Wow, German recipes would be so wonderful! Wish I could be the tester!!!!!
    xxx pumpkin

Leave a Reply

