Banana and Walnut Gluten Free Cupcakes

These cupcakes don’t look as good as their gluten-based brothers and sisters, however, they are completely gorgeous.  They are incredibly moist, firm, nutty, fruity and decadent!  Not one person at work knew there wasn’t any gluten to be seen…  Sadly, I only made twelve.  When I came to take home the left-overs, there weren’t any!  So, here I am with my cup of hot water (I ran out of my usual soy milk for my tea) and no cakes…  boo hoo!  However, feel free to follow the recipe below and make me one. Please???  This recipe was inspired by Cookie Girl – she has a website that can be googled.  I have tinkered with it, however, to meet my gluten free needs.

Banana and Walnut Gluten Free Cupcakes

110g unsalted butter
110g caster sugar
2 large eggs and one extra yolk  (Use free range please – happy hens = happy cakes)
150g gluten free plain flour
1.5 tsp gluten free baking powder
2 ripe bananas, mashed
20 ml buttermilk (I use soy milk)
1 tsp cinnamon
50g chopped walnuts

Icing:
50g unsalted butter (or use Trex)
1 tsp white vinegar
1.5 mashed bananas (enjoy the last half!)
250g icing sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon
chopped walnuts (to decorate)

1) Preheat oven to 180C / 350F / Gas 4.  Line a 12 hole muffin tin with paper cases.
2) Cream the butter and sugar, then beat in eggs and extra yolk.
3) Sift flour and baking powder, adding it a little at a time to the creamed butter/sugar/eggs.
4) Add mashed banana, cinnamon, walnuts and buttermilk. Continue to mix until well combined.
5) Use an ice cream scoop and divide between cake cases, around 1/3 full.
6) Bake for 20 minutes.
7) Remove and leave to cool. (They may go a little wonky – don’t worry!)
8) To make the icing, mash the bananas and add vinegar.  Mash together and then begin adding the icing sugar and cinnamon.  Keep mixing until creamy.  I added a little lemon juice for tartness too.  Spoon over cooled cakes and sprinkle on chopped walnuts.

About Scrap Kittie

A sewing and baking addict, vegetarian animal-lover, teacher. And an avid music fan...all the wrong sorts of music. Hence the blog was nearly called 'Hot Cake' after The Fall's song.
This entry was posted in Cupcakes, Gluten free. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Banana and Walnut Gluten Free Cupcakes

  1. Look good… what do you think about using coconut milk? I think I’ll cut down on the bananas, they can make it fall from too much moisture. Did you flour already have guar or xantham gum in it?

    • Hmmm, coconut milk would probably taste gorgeous! I was concerned about the bananas, but apparently, gluten free flour soaks up moisture quite a lot. If you do try it, please let me know how you got on. My photos are hopeless – our house is really dark and east facing, so apologies – they look much nicer in real life. Oh, and the flour had neither guar or xantham in it – it’s a blend of rice, potato, maize and buckwheat from Sainsbury’s (England).

Leave a Reply

