Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

It’s the weekend again and time to indulge in some baking again.  A timely release from an incredibly hectic week at work where, somehow, things seem to get busier and busier all the time.  I do love my job, but I look forward to all things kitchen-related on Saturday and Sunday.  I should add in here that I also look forward to all things music related and some things football (soccer) related.  Up the Villa!  (Whilst listening to Danielle Dax, The Fall or, this weekend, Mark Lanegan  🙂 🙂  Sadly, the weekend was slightly ruined by a visit to the dentist who proceeded to explain that a) I had an abscess, b) it could probably be treated there and then and c) this would involve removing the nerve.  YIKES!  He numbed my mouth twice, but NOTHING could stop me hitting the roof when he jabbed in that hook-like thing and pulled… 😦  Nevermind, it was a perfect excuse to disappear into the kitchen for some KMIX therapy!
Now for the recipe.  I’m going to try and add in US measurements but I can’t guarantee accuracy! I’ll do my very recipe-best.

Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

125g (1/2 cup) butter
125g (2/3 cup) firmly packed soft brown sugar
1 egg, beaten
200g (1 and 2/3 cup) of self-raising flour
125g (1 cup – not accurate. a guess!) of dark chocolate, roughly chopped
OPTIONAL – 50g (1/3 cup) chopped nuts (I did not use these)
pinch of salt

* Lightly grease several baking sheets – allow room for 6 cookies per sheet as they spread. (I made 18 large-ish cookies from this recipe) Pre-heat oven to 190 C / 375 F
* Beat butter and sugar together until light and fluffy.  Gradually add the beaten egg, beating well after each addition.
* Sift flour and salt into batter and blend well.
* Stir in chocolate (and nuts).  (The mixture is quite stiff.  This is normal.  It also tastes delicious at this point, which is WRONG as it contains raw egg.)
* Drop heaped teaspoons of mixture onto the baking sheets.  I did 6 per baking sheet.
* Bake for 12 minutes, or until golden brown.  DON’T overcook as they will be crunchy, rather than soft and chewy.
* Cool on wire cooling racks.
* Enjoy!

About Scrap Kittie

A sewing and baking addict, vegetarian animal-lover, teacher. And an avid music fan...all the wrong sorts of music. Hence the blog was nearly called 'Hot Cake' after The Fall's song.
This entry was posted in Chocolate, Cookies and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. mjskit says:

    I just want to bite into that cookie sitting on the top of the stack. It looks like the perfect chocolate chip cookie! Love the use of dark chocolate. It is better for us after all. 🙂

  2. These look so delicious! I love me some dark chocolate!

Leave a Reply

