Apricot and Cinnamon Scones (Gluten Free)

Apricot and Cinnamon Scones (Gluten Free)

A quick word on blogging so far.  It’s a very enjoyable hobby.  I love sharing recipes and have been inspired by some of the work I see on FoodBuzz.  D and I particularly like faffing on (fannying on/messing on/messing around?), trying to capture the essence of what’s been baked in a photograph and to aid us in this pursuit, we have spent lots of time perusing food photography.  I hope one day I start to enjoy the photography more than the eating of the food, because then I might reach that elusive size 8!  However, I find the blogs I like reading the most are the simple, no-nonsense, food focused ones.  Some blogs are like mini-essays and I wish, I REALLY wish, I had the time to read them fully, but I don’t.  The best blogs have been short, sweet and funny.  Warm, with a great recipe at the end and stunning photographs.  Just so you know – this is what I will aspire to.

So… on to the scones!

Still convinced that many of my stomach problems are related to the gluten in my diet, I am continuing to experiment with the gluten free options and as it’s easy enough to make scones, this was a perfect opportunity to use more of my gluten free flour.  Scones are so versatile, aren’t they?  They’re not delicate or posh-nosh or cheffy, but they are tasty.  I’ve only ever made sultana or plain scones.  Marcia at work makes cheese scones that are apparently a regular request in her house!  So, with this in mind, I decided to experiment.  What did I have in the cupboard?  A packet of dried apricots.  Well, why not?  Hence the following recipe:

Apricot and Cinnamon Scones (Gluten Free)
210 g (1 and 3/4 cups) well sifted self-raising gluten-free flour (US – use all-purpose/gluten free plus raising agent)
10 g (2 tbsp) cinnamon/ground ginger, mixed
1 tsp gluten free baking powder
pinch salt
25 g (2 tbsp)  caster sugar
50 g (just under 1/4 cup) unsalted butter
150 ml (just under 2/3 cup) milk
50 g (1/3 cup) chopped apricots.
EITHER 1 beaten egg (for shine) OR flour, for dusting.  (I think dusted flour gives a more professional, neat finish)
Extra thick whipping cream
Mixed fruit jam (Apricot, peach etc)

*  Pre-heat oven to 220 degrees C / 425 degrees F / Gas 7
*  Sift together flour, baking powder, cinnamon/ginger and salt.  Stir in the sugar.
*  Add softened butter and rub quickly into a fine breadcrumb texture.
*  Add the milk, a little at a time, creating a smooth dough. (Use your hands, not a spoon)
*  Press in the chopped apricots, using your hands.
*  Leave to rest for 5 – 15 mins.
*  Roll out the dough on a floured surface to about 2 cm thick.  Using a 5 cm cutter, cut rounds of dough.  Make the action sharp and decisive, don’t twist the cutter otherwise your scones will rise unevenly.
*  Place scones on a greased baking tray (or use greaseproof paper).  Dust with flour or brush with beaten egg.
*  Bake for 10 – 12 minutes.
* Serve with extra thick whipped cream and jam, or extra apricots.

 

About Scrap Kittie

A sewing and baking addict, vegetarian animal-lover, teacher. And an avid music fan...all the wrong sorts of music. Hence the blog was nearly called 'Hot Cake' after The Fall's song.
This entry was posted in Apricots, Cinnamon, Cream, Gluten free, Scones and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Apricot and Cinnamon Scones (Gluten Free)

  1. Lisa says:

    OOoh..I pop in and it’s scone-a-licious! I love these apricot and cinnamon scones, as well as the black forest ones below! That said, thank you for checking out my entremet – so much fun to make and so decadent!

  2. bellegroveatportconway says:

    I am getting ready to open a bed and breakfast on a very historic property in Virginia. (it’s where James Madison was born) One of the events we are going to offer is an Afternoon Tea. So I am so glad I came across your blog! Thanks for the great post!

Leave a Reply

