Roasted Cauliflower Soup

The colour doesn't really do the flavour justice

Right, I KNOW that this soup has the colour of polyfiller.  Or plaster.  Or even porridge.
“What’s that Moo?”
“Roasted cauliflower soup.”
“Oh.  For a minute there, I thought you had a bowl of … erm …grey?!”

I DO assure you it didn’t taste grey.  It was delicious.

I’m going to be honest here.  I heated it, ‘dressed’ it, set up my light tent and got ready to take some beautifully composed, Foodgawker-worthy  snaps.  I took two pictures, knowing they weren’t the best as they were sporting a number of shadows here and there.  Should I take another?  Yes.  Did I take another?  NOOOOOOO!!!!   I . Ate . The.  Soup. The whole lot, cross legged, in front of my light tent.  I couldn’t help it, honestly.  “Please, sir, can I have some more?”
Rich and hearty, but still light and healthy, this soup makes quite the change from my usual cakes and bakes!
This recipe was adapted from:
http://oniongogs.blogspot.com/2012/02/cauliflower-white-cheddar-soup.html 
I adapted it to make it vegetarian, substituting the meaty stock for a vegetable stock and I omitted the cheese.

Roasted Cauliflower Soup
1 head of cauliflower, whole
2 sticks of celery
1 small onion
1 small potato
2 cloves of garlic
240 ml (1 cup) of vegetable stock
lemon juice
pinch of salt
freshly ground black pepper
chopped chives, sesame seeds and sprinkle of paprika to garnish

* Preheat the oven to 190 degrees  (375 degrees C).
* Place the whole cauliflower head on a roasting tray.  Drizzle with a little olive oil, rub a pinch of salt over and drizzle with lemon juice.
* Using tin foil, make a packet and fill with the chopped onion, celery, garlic and sliced potato.
* Place both the cauliflower and your tin foil packet into the oven and bake for around 30 minutes.
* When baked, remove from the oven.  Drizzle more lemon over the cauliflower and grind some pepper over it.
* On the hob, heat through the vegetable stock.  (You may need to adjust the amount of stock in the recipe, depending upon how thick or runny you like your soups).   Break up the cauliflower and add to the stock.  Open the tin foil packet, add those ingredients to the stock and then allow to simmer gently for 5 minutes.
* Add the ingredients to a food blender and whizz it up.  Pour it back into the saucepan to warm through.
* To serve, ladle into a bowl and top with chopped chives, a sprinkle of sesame seeds and a pinch of paprika, for colour.

See those shadows? If I hadn't eaten it I could have taken another photo.

 

About Scrap Kittie

A sewing and baking addict, vegetarian animal-lover, teacher. And an avid music fan...all the wrong sorts of music. Hence the blog was nearly called 'Hot Cake' after The Fall's song.
This entry was posted in cauliflower, Soups, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Roasted Cauliflower Soup

  1. Gray or not it looks delicious! Thanks for linking up on my blog hop.

Leave a Reply

