Ginger Biscuits

Ginger Biscuits

This is a blast from the past, isn’t it?  Everybody (in the UK, anyway), has fond memories of the ginger biscuit.
“Oh my God.  This takes me back,” proclaimed D, mouthful of crumbs. “I love these.”

I think about my nan when I think of ginger biscuits.  My dad’s family were a family of tea-dippers and when I used to stay at my nan and grandad’s house, my cousins would be there and they ALWAYS dipped their biscuits.  ALWAYS.  I hated dipping biscuits, the sogginess made me feel sick, but somehow ginger biscuits held their own. They were the WWE champions of the tea-dipping hardcore belt.  They held their shape, didn’t melt and still had a bit of crunch.  That is, as long as you didn’t hold them under until they drowned.
I’ve made these biscuits on numerous occasions.  We always made them when I worked at WA in Solihull.  Me, Eleanor, Debs, ‘Nanny’ San, Perdeep and Julie  would gather our broods (yellow, green, red, orange, purple or blue group) and assemble in the Early Years kitchen armed with flour, sugar, golden syrup, eggs, butter ready to soldier the world with an army of gingerbread men with smartie eyes and sultana buttons. Good times.

I think everyone has different expectations of ginger biscuits.  When I worked for Greggs (a well known bakery chain here in the UK), we used to bake the pre-frozen gingerbread men and when they came out of the oven, our job would be to add chocolate eyes and buttons.  These spicy little men were different to the usual ginger biscuit – quite ‘biscuity’ and smooth textured rather than crunchy and cracked.  Warm out of the oven, we’d have a cuppa at 8.45 a.m with our hot gingerbread man and ready ourselves for the day long queue that would begin at 9 a.m and continue until 5 p.m with demands for custard tarts, fresh cream doughnuts, bloomer loaves, crusty cobs or chocolate eclairs.  Like I said, good times.

What are your gingerbread memories?  I’d like to collect ginger recipes and test each one.  If you have a favourite ginger recipe, please add it here and maybe we could all test it and then review it?  My recipe was originally in pounds and ounces – good old fashioned British metric weights.  I’ve converted to the nearest ten in grams.

Ginger Biscuits (makes around 12) – I made these gluten free too, by substituting the flour for gluten-free flour from Sainsbury’s and adding 1 tbsp milk and a dash of extra golden syrup as gluten free flour soaks up liquid quite easily.

180 g (6 oz) self-raising flour
120 g (4 oz) soft brown caster sugar
3/4 tsp bicarbonate of soda
60 g (2 oz) butter, softened
2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp cinnamon
2 tsp golden syrup (treacle)
1 egg

* Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees C (370 degrees F).  Grease a baking sheet well.  Line with greaseproof baking paper.
*  Sift the flour and bicarbonate of soda.
* Mix all ingredients except for the egg together – I used my KMIX, but an electric hand mixer or brute strength would be just as effective.
* Add in the egg until the mixture becomes a nice, pliable dough.
* Lightly flour the work surface and roll out the dough to about 1.5 cm / 1 inch thick.  Using a cutter, cut the shapes you would like.  This will affect the quantity, depending on the size of the cutter.  If you don;t have a cutter, roll small walnut sized balls in your hand and then flatten gently into rounds.  They WILL spread, give them space!!
* Bake for 15 minutes.
* Turn onto a cooling rack and leave to cool.  (Although I love them hot!)
* Serve with good strong cup of tea!

About Scrap Kittie

A sewing and baking addict, vegetarian animal-lover, teacher. And an avid music fan...all the wrong sorts of music. Hence the blog was nearly called 'Hot Cake' after The Fall's song.
This entry was posted in Biscuits, Cinnamon, Cookies, Ginger, Gluten free and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ginger Biscuits

  1. Halo says:

    I have a delicious recipe for Ginger Spice Ball Macaroons that I’ll be sharing this week. (As soon as I buy some fresh ginger – judging by the shops up my way there’s some sort of Birmingham based shortage occurring.) It’s a naturally gluten free recipe and I hope you’ll enjoy it! It brings back happy Christmas memories for me as I always make a few huge batches for friends and family gatherings around that time of year. Nothing says Christmas quite like spicy ginger and icing sugar all down your front. That, and eating a whole tin of Quality Street and drinking a miniature bottle of alcohol before midday, in your pjs, and finding it totally acceptable.

    • Oooh, yeah, please share Halo, sounds lush. (BTW, I’m originally from Birmingham…been up North for 3 years and still have the accent!!) And I agree about the miniature bottle of alcohol. Just as it is universally agreed that at Christmas, white wine is obviously the breakfast choice and red = dinner??

  2. Kelley says:

    yum………want some!!!! Your dad loves oatmeal raisin cookies…..wonder if these ginger cookies(biscuits) would task good with some raisins????? yum!

  3. sorry gabby…I thought that posted on my facebook..you may delete!

Leave a Reply

