Chicken Madras, D-Style

Chicken Madras

I know, I know, I’m a vegetarian, so why am I posting a chicken madras recipe?  Well, if I hadn’t, I might have been given the sack by D.  My marching orders.  Yes, he wanted to ‘Guest Post’.
Why not? (I thought)
He IS a guest.  AND SOOOOOOOOOO proud of this curry.
“But you did post the pineapple curry and the rice from the same meal…” Yes I did.  But….I haven’t had time yet….
It’s a big but and I cannot lie.
I have had the time, it’s just that I’ve chosen to squander it on life-enhancing tasks such as ironing every garment in the wardrobe.  Which seemed to contain the entire contents of Narnia in it.  And I don’t mean trees.  I mean all the clothes in Narnia.  Did anyone else truly believe that they would one day get to Narnia??  I would look closely at paintings on walls waiting for them to open up and swallow me, like in ‘The Voyage of the Dawn Treader”.  (I have a lot to thank Anne for – she introduced me to the Narnia books.  Thanks Mammma Bullmamaaa, Mom 2 /Mom B!  Not that you ARE second or B, it was just bad timing  🙂  😉  😉 )   Anyway, I was completely and utterly convinced by Narnia.  To me, it was the eighth continent, where animals do talk and …  simply magic.
Wow, how I digressed there.  Welcome to my world of Poor Inhibition Control and Shocking Topic Maintenance.  I am self-diagnosed as having quite significant Executive Function Issues.  ‘Look it up’.  (I quoted Mark E Smith there).
Anyway, this is the last savoury recipe for a while.  But I think you’ll agree it’s worth it’s savoury weight in carroty- MADRAS-gold.

P.S.   When this photograph makes http://foodgawker.com/  War of the Norf and Saaarf will cometh…  D will claim his VICTORY in the food photography stakes. (Or should that be ‘steaks’?)

Chicken Madras, D-Styleeeee  (Hot-ish)
2 tbsp oil (or ghee)
1/2 tsp fenugreek seeds
1/2 tsp black onion seeds (kaljoni)
1 onion chopped
4 cloves garlic, crushed
1 inch cube of ginger, peeled and grated
2 tsps Madras Powder (The Holy Grail!)
1 tsp ground coriander
1 tsp chilli powder
1 tsp salt
1 tsp tumeric
1 tsp cumin powder
2 tbsp lemon juice
1 tin chopped tomatoes
2 chicken breasts (cut into 6 pieces)
handful chopped fresh coriander
3 whole birds-eye chillies (depending on your preference for heat)
1 small red and green pepper chopped into large chunks
1 tbsp soy sauce

*  Heat oil (ghee) and fry fenugreek and onion seeds for 30 seconds.  Add onions, garlic and ginger.  Fry for 5 minutes.
*  Add Madras Powder and fry for further 30 seconds.
*  In a separate bowl, mix together tinned tomatoes, ground coriander, chilli powder, salt, tumeric, cumin and lemon juice.  Add to fried onions and stir for 3 minutes.
*  Add uncooked chicken and continue to cook for 7-10 minutes.
*  Add peppers, fresh chillies, coriander and soy sauce.  Lower the heat and cover the pan.  Cook for 15 minutes and until chicken is tender.
*  Serve with tri-colour rice, and side dishes such as lentil dahl or Aubergine, Lake Palace Pickling Style.
https://mooeleven.wordpress.com/2011/12/29/aubergine-curry-glutenwheat-free/   

 

About Scrap Kittie

A sewing and baking addict, vegetarian animal-lover, teacher. And an avid music fan...all the wrong sorts of music. Hence the blog was nearly called 'Hot Cake' after The Fall's song.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Curry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chicken Madras, D-Style

  1. dmg1969 says:

    Its not a Madras curry as such, just a generic Hot Chicken Curry. You can thicken using a little tom puree and add or reduce chilli to taste. Using the above recipe will give you a little over madras heat. Add a few Scoth Bonnets into the mix and your gonna burn in hell baby…

Leave a Reply

