Ziggy Stardust Cakes (and music…)

Ziggy Stardust Cakes

D’you know what?  I’m not going to put a recipe up here and insult your intelligence.  It’s just a damn basic vanilla recipe…and we all know how to do that right?  Nowt fancy.  Move along.  Nothing to see here.
Apart from ‘Record Store Day’  Ziggy cakes.
And some shaky bloody  floody flooding icing.
Look at those ‘first attempt’ royally-floody-iced Ziggy Stardust thingys.  I felt the need to show them off here, despite the flaws, mistakes, cracks and imperfections.  Everyone has to start somewhere don’t you agree?  Just nod.
Isn’t there something very satisfying about old-fashioned techniques and workmanship? Something deeply honourable about keeping these traditions alive?Move over sugarpaste…Royal Icing here I come.  Royal Icing.  It 100% deserves it’s capital letters.  I’m a convert.

Now I’m off my soapbox.

So, I made the frosting on these cakes from Trex.  I wanted a brilliant white and Trex does just that.  If you don’t know,  Trex is this:
TREX
If you don’t have it where you live, then try ‘super-white’ by Sugarflair.

Music Night…
Now, it’s an impromptu music night in our house right now.  12.41 a.m.  I’ve been lugging furniture around all day, transforming a classroom with a couple of super-talented ladies who I’ve known for a while but never worked with before.  Well done us.  It took us a day to empty the cupboard and two days to organise it back.  Not one spider found.
Anyway, I digress.  [The effects of a cheeky vodka and red bull….  :)]   Back to the music night.  So, I am aching all over but somehow I wanna dance. Nu-Metal.  OMG – NEVER, EVER, EVER, EVER in a million immortal goth years would I EVER have admitted to enjoying a bit of Linkin’ Park, Blink 182, Sum 41, Terrorvision….  lol.  But it’s been a trip down Memory Lane (or Broad Street), sliding through the darkened alleyways of Birmingham, reminiscing about what used to be the Rock Cafe, then goth-two-stepping along Broad Street to XL’s, where the joke that we considered Nu-Metal would be rapping it’s way down the stairs.  Oh, how we judged!  How uber-goth we were.  Not ‘Emo’ goth.  PROPER trad goth – corsets, big black hair, piercings, black eyeliner, the works.  And how we despised the ‘kids’ with their brand of crass Nu-Metal.  But tonight… tonight, I’ve loved it.
“Oh, this reminds me so much of brilliant nights at XL’s!”

I’d love those days again…. although I love my life right now.
Enjoy.
Eat, listen to music and dress up.
Here’s a small relic from those days;

Uber-goth!

Thank you and goodnight.

About Scrap Kittie

A sewing and baking addict, vegetarian animal-lover, teacher. And an avid music fan...all the wrong sorts of music. Hence the blog was nearly called 'Hot Cake' after The Fall's song.
This entry was posted in Cupcakes, Icing, Royal Icing, Trex, Vanilla cake and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ziggy Stardust Cakes (and music…)

  1. Gillian says:

    Big respect for the best ever name for a cake! You rock girlfriend :))

  2. Eftychia says:

    Clever name, beautiful creations!

Leave a Reply

