Chocolate and Walnut Oaty Biscuits

Chocolate and Walnut Oaty Biscuits

Hello!
You have caught me mid-birthday cake.
I am up to my eyeballs in sugarpaste roses, white chocolate and 10″ cake.
I’m not too impressed with the cake yet.
And I feel a rant coming on…
I’ve been experimenting trying to find a good white chocolate celebration cake recipe and so far I have been utterly disappointed.  Stupidly, I deviated from the one foolproof Madeira Cake recipe that works every-darn-time.  From now on, I am NOT deviating again.  Yesterday, I chucked an entire white chocolate ‘mud cake’ out, because, frankly, it tasted K-A-K.
Who makes up these recipes?
Do they ever check them?
I scoured the internet for a great white chocolate cake recipe, even reading the reviews…  I finally found one.
“The BEST mudcake I’ve ever eaten.” (I think you mean ‘drank’ there, Missy).
“Gooey, sticky mudcake. Yum.”  (Hmmm, ‘runny’ may have been more apt. Runny mudcake.)
“Super-awesome, super-delish!” (Soup-er, you mean?)
Do people actually eat these ‘wet’ cakes?  I could only describe these recipes I’ve been testing as WET.  They’re all ‘new fangled’ recipes that include the addition of 200 ml of cream and a sh1t-load of yoghurt and tablespoonfuls of milk (why not add ladlefuls and be done with it?) and more liquid than I fill my bath with in the mornings…
Now, I consider myself generally quite positive.  But I was beginning to lose the will to live.
The internet needs to employ a sh1t-deleter.
Somebody, somewhere needs to delete a load of these reviews before someone tops themselves after their fifth attempt at making ‘the best, most super-great, super-awesome, super-delish, super-easy, super-super mudcake in the universe’ turns out to be freakin’ WET!
I should know better.
Anyway, to make it up to myself, I decided to do some nice simple baking that would ultimately be satisfying to the core.  Something to warm the cockles of my heart.  Something I could eat, that would go nicely with ‘Saturday Kitchen’ and a cuppa.  Oh yeah, you got it.
BISCUITS!
Who doesn’t like a good hob-nob, eh?

Chocolate and Walnut Oaty Biscuits
(Inspired by ‘Chocolate – a collection of over 100 essential recipes’)

115g (1/2 cup) butter
140g (3/4 cup) brown sugar
1 egg
1/2 tsp almond extract (I prefer to omit this or just use 1/4 tsp)
150g (1 and 1/3 cups of well-sifted) plain flour
3/4 tsp baking powder
200g (2 and 1/4 cups) rolled oats
75g (1/2 cup) chocolate chips (or chopped chocolate)
60g (just under 1/2 cup) toasted walnuts
120g (1 cup) melted dark chocolate

* Preheat the oven to 180 degrees C / 350 degrees F.
* Grease and line 2 baking trays with greaseproof paper.
* Scatter the walnuts onto a third baking tray and pop in the oven for 10 minutes.
* Meanwhile, cream the butter and sugar together in a bowl.  Add the egg and almond extract and beat well.  It should become light, pale and fluffy.
* In another bowl, sift the flour and baking powder.  Beat in the egg/butter/sugar mixture.
* Remove the walnuts from the oven.  Using a rolling pin, bash them into smallish chunks.  Don’t over-bash as you lose the crunchy texture.
* Stir in the oats, chocolate chips and half of the walnuts.
* Using a tablespoon, make 12 – 15 round balls of mixture.  Place them on the baking trays, flattening with the back of a spoon.
* Bake for 12 minutes, or until golden brown.
* Remove from the oven and transfer onto a wire cooling rack to cool.
* Melt the chocolate in 10 second bursts in the microwave.  If you don’t have a microwave (mine decided to blow up last night… 🙂 place the broken up chocolate into a glass bowl and place this on top of a small pan of gently simmering water.  Don’t let the water touch the bowl otherwise the chocolate will burn.
* When melted, dip the tops of the biscuits into the chocolate and then into the crushed walnuts.
*  Leave to harden.  (Or eat immediately, whilst still warm and the chocolate is all melty!)

About Scrap Kittie

A sewing and baking addict, vegetarian animal-lover, teacher. And an avid music fan...all the wrong sorts of music. Hence the blog was nearly called 'Hot Cake' after The Fall's song.
This entry was posted in Biscuits, Chocolate, Cookies, Oats, Walnuts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

