Lemon Drizzle Anniversary Cake with Calla Lilies

Anniversary Cake

Please visit me:
http://www.facebook.com/MoosPantry

Phew!!
I normally try to blog on Wednesdays and at the weekend, but this demanded so much attention that I didn’t get around to Wednesday! In fact, just WHERE did Wednesday go??!!
Wednesday was baking evening.  Three 8″ layers of luscious lemon cake.  I used the basic madeira cake recipe here and added lemon zest.  When they had cooled, I prodded and poked the cake, pouring lemon syrup (home-made, of course) into the holes.
Thursday night was dedicated to icing the board and buttercreaming the cake so that it was PERFECT.  6 hours later…. first crumb coat done!  Thursday was also the day half of my class went home sick.  So I was expecting to be sick at some point the following day.
I wasn’t.
Genius!  Immune system a-go-go.

First crumb coat – DONE! (took ages!)

It went into the freezer for 30 minutes, then the second coat was applied so that it was perfectly smooth.
Use this tutorial – she’s fantastic!!
Smooth Buttercream 
On Friday night, I covered the cake with white fondant.  The fondant needed to be 4mm thick and no more to try and get those sharp edges.
That was left to dry overnight.
CUE a visit to a poorly relative in hospital and then, upon our return home, MUSIC NIGHT and a bottle of fizzy rose!  Well, what else on a beautiful summers day!  (We’ve had nearly three summer days here up Norf so far – IMAGINE THAT!)
Saturday morning = 2 paracetamol.
Saturday, later on that morning = Making the lilies and adding ribbon to the cake.
Easy?
NOOOOOOO!!
Still loved it though!

Calla Lilies – first attempt….

I bet you can see all the imperfections!!!  TOO CLOSE!  Feel free to circle them.
Before I sign off, some random things:
1) The fog horn is going off here, loud and proud.
2) Obviously, it’s well foggy, but warm.  The pier has been stolen.
3) Can’t wait for tea – olives, bread, marinated ginger and sundried tomatoes and posh bread.  Oh my.
4)  I need to go and persuade D that we need another kitten.
5) ?
6)  We’ve got tickets to see Fields of the Nephilim in Leeds.  I think they really are vampyres…  mwahahahahaha.

That’s it.

About Scrap Kittie

A sewing and baking addict, vegetarian animal-lover, teacher. And an avid music fan...all the wrong sorts of music. Hence the blog was nearly called 'Hot Cake' after The Fall's song.
This entry was posted in Birthday cakes, Fondant icing, Large cakes, Lemon, Lemon cake, Sponge cake, Sugar flowers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Lemon Drizzle Anniversary Cake with Calla Lilies

  1. mom says:

    Hi Gab the cake looks really nice. who is it for.

  2. I could see all the imperfections if there were any. Your cakes are amazing!

  3. I cannot see any imperfections – you are actually too talented 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • Moo's Pantry says:

      Awww, bless, thank you. I’m not – I just watched a million video tutorials to get this right!!! Some people’s cakes are too stunning for words….I collect my favourites on my facebook page! I know, sad aren’t I?!

Leave a Reply

