Lemon Meringue Pie

Lemon Meringue Pie

PLEAASSEEEEE visit me AT:     MoosPantry  I’d LOVE to talk cake!!!!  Or music – goth/metal/grunge/post-punk etc….!!!

Anyway, my oven is a fan oven – can you tell?
It DEFINITELY isn’t working is it? Tee hee…
However this was a freakin’ de-lish-ous dessert – a British classic.  This was a request.
So we had beef, (not me – I’m veggie), cooked for 5 hrs in red wine, stock, rosemary and garlic. THEN we had lemon meringue.  Whilst watching England LOSE.  LOSERS!  L  L  L   L  L  (Makes ‘L’ with right hand above forehead…)
To be honest, I enjoyed the match, but everyone’s moaning here.  I reckon we did well – after all, we had a new manager, new team etc…BUT enough disappointment, already.
What about the Gvmt policy on capping housing benefit for under 25’s?  What do you think?  Cue an hour long discussion…
I had to go and have a piece of PIE to try and balance my thoughts.  Let’s just say, I’m glad I live where I do.  It relaxes the mind.  My job does the same.   I’m REALLY glad I teach, I love my job.  BUT I wish the economy was strong enough to support many cake businesses, cos I’d be there… I’d be really annoying as I have a Brummie accent, LOL! Guess what’s on TV now???  Greeks, starting a Snail Fram …  who thinks of this shit? I wish I did.  I wish I’d started making dresses for Gypsies.  I wish I’d been a swearing chef.  I wish I’d been a tone-deaf X-factor winner…. I’m glad I’m not, I mean,  “Je suis heureux que je ne suis pas un escargot!”
Instead, let’s think positive!  Lemon Meringue Pie – it’s bloody gorgeous!
This was by Angela Nilsen from : http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/3482/ultimate-lemon-meringue-pie
Lemon Meringue Pie Pastry:
175g plain (all purpose) flour
100g unsalted butter, cold
1 tbsp icing suagr
1 egg yolk

Filling:
2 jars of lemon curd OR:
2 tbsp cornflour
100g caster sugar
125 ml fresh lemon juice
85g unsalted butter
3 egg yolks and 1 whole egg

Meringue:
4 egg whites (room temp)
200g caster sugar
2 tbsp cornflour

*  To make the pastry, put the flour, butter, icing sugar, egg yolk (save the white for the meringue) and 1 tbsp cold water into a food processor. Gently process until the mix starts to bind. Turn the pastry onto a floured surface and then gather together until smooth.
* Roll out and line an 6″ loose-bottom fluted flan tin with greaseproof paper. (I used a 6″ sandwich cake tin)
* Trim and neaten the edges. Press the pastry into the flutes. The pastry is rich, don’t worry if it cracks!  Press it back together. Prick the base with a fork, line with baking parchment and chill for 1⁄2-1 hour.
*  Heat oven to 200C/fan 180C/gas 6. Bake the pastry case ‘blind’ (filled with dry beans) for 15 mins, then remove the parchment and bake a further 5-8 mins until the pastry is pale golden and cooked. Set aside. (Can be done a day ahead if you want to get ahead.) Lower the oven to 180C/fan 160C/gas 4.
*  Make the filling: mix the cornflour, sugar and lemon zest in a medium saucepan. Strain and stir in the lemon juice gradually. Make orange juice up to 100ml with water and then strain it into the saucepan.
*  Heat over a medium heat, stirring until thickened and smooth.
*  Once the mixture bubbles, remove from the heat and beat in the butter until melted. Beat the egg yolks (save white for meringue) and whole egg together, stir into the pan and return to a medium heat.  *Keep stirring vigorously for a few minutes, until the mixture thickens and plops from the spoon. (It will bubble, but doesn’t curdle.) *   Take off the heat and set aside while you make the meringue
*  Put the egg whites in a large bowl. Whisk to soft peaks, then add half the sugar a spoonful at a time, whisking between each addition without over-beating. (BE CAREFUL!!)
*  Whisk in the cornflour, then add the rest of the sugar until smooth and thick. Quickly reheat the filling and pour it into the pastry case. Immediately put spoonfuls of meringue around the edge of the filling then spread so it touches the pastry (this will secure it and stop it sliding around). Pile (or pipe, as I did, using a Wilton 1M tip, in a ose pattern) the rest into the centre, spreading so it touches the surface of the hot filling, then give it all a swirl. Return to the oven for 20 mins until the meringue is crisp and nicely browned. Let the pie sit in the tin for 30 mins, then remove and leave for at least another 1⁄2-1 hr before slicing. Eat the same day….

About Scrap Kittie

A sewing and baking addict, vegetarian animal-lover, teacher. And an avid music fan...all the wrong sorts of music. Hence the blog was nearly called 'Hot Cake' after The Fall's song.
This entry was posted in Large cakes, Layer cakes, Lemon, Lemon cake, Meringue, Pastry, Sponge cake, Tray Bakes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lemon Meringue Pie

  1. mom says:

    I could eat it now it looks scrumptious.

  2. Soccer can really make a whole country whine! I think your pie was the perfect antidote. And the braised meat with red wine. Awesome, both!

Leave a Reply

