Christmas Cakes 2012

DSCF0307Christmas Cakes 2012 – I wish I had photographs of all seven of them but sadly, I don’t!
The end of 2012 became incredibly busy here.  I had a presentation/assignment to do for university, we moved house and I had 7 Christmas cakes to do.  Fortunately, the roses were started a few weeks before Christmas so they were ‘lustred’ and ready to go.  I’d used Morrisons own brand icing for most of them, then realised I needed a few additional petals, so I used a well-known professional brand icing and couldn’t have been more disappointed.  However, you live and learn!
So, house-moving day was 23rd December (Yes, I KNOW!!).  it was also the eldest’s birthday and my mom, aunty and cousin were due to visit on the Megabus!!!  School broke up late (21st) and anyone who teaches probably knows what I mean when I say that schools + Christmas = MADNESS!!  So, first night in the new house, after moving loads of furniture, I decorated seven Christmas cakes.
I’ll be honest – I hate levelling fruit cakes.  The way you get holes etc drives me nuts.  So I was a lazy minx and didn’t level them as pedantically as I would normally.  Plus time was short. (I did let family know that they wouldn’t be perfect – luckily they let me off!)
I had marzipanned and iced two days previous so it was just the decorating that needed doing.  Good job Match of the Day was on until one o’clock a.m so there was something to watch!
I would LOVE to share the recipe but I have been sworn to secrecy on this one – it is an old family recipe that only a few are allowed to know!  What I can tell you though is that I tinker with it and use Mich Turner’s rich fruit cake recipe as a ‘tinker guide’!  Lots of people also recommend Delia’s fruit cake….
Give them a try – you can’t go far wrong.

Spiced fruit cake

Spiced fruit cake

There are loads of tutorials for making sugarpaste roses on t’internet…all I can say is find a way that works for you. I tried a couple of techniques and found a way that works for me – I might even do a tutorial shortly.
DSCF0320I have discovered a passion for making roses – these were the first I’d ever made.  Call it a learning curve!

Sugarpaste roses - not perfect, but improving!  Everyone starts somewhere, right?

Sugarpaste roses – not perfect, but improving! Everyone starts somewhere, right?

Well, just to wish everyone a very happy, healthy 2013…  Happy Caking!

About Scrap Kittie

A sewing and baking addict, vegetarian animal-lover, teacher. And an avid music fan...all the wrong sorts of music. Hence the blog was nearly called 'Hot Cake' after The Fall's song.
This entry was posted in Celebration cakes, Christmas Cakes, Fondant icing, Fruit cake, Icing, Large cakes, Marzipan, Novelty Cakes, Royal Icing, Sugar flowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Christmas Cakes 2012

  1. Gillian x says:

    If its Kittys recipe I am sure they were gorgeous and you are right, the secret must be kept – you are honoured after being part of the family for over 23 years I still dont have it!

  2. bakearama says:

    So pretty! And Morrison’s own brand eh? I normally use Dr Oetker regal ice but only because it’s easy to get in my local Tesco – and it’s just alright. But if it’s good and will save money on my baking addiction then I’ll be trying them out!

Leave a Reply

