21st Birthday Cake

21st Birthday Cake

Isn’t this a flamboyant cake?!
Three layers of moist madeira cake, topped with white chocolate and ‘stuff’.
The brief?
Ultra-girly.

The roses are handmade:
This is the first time I’ve ever made roses.
I used a tutorial in my favourite magazine ‘Cake Baking and Decoration’ and, if I do say so myself, they worked a treat.  You can almost smell’em.
There were more than a few disasters.
1) The first ‘test’ white chocolate mud-cake had to be thrown away.  If you saw my previous rant    post   … erm …  sermon(!), you will have noticed that ‘wet cakes’ are not a personal favourite.
2) The next white chocolate cake was distinctly un-chocolatey.  So we ate that one.
3) I gave up and made a madeira, flavouring it with white hot chocolate of the Thorntons variety.  How Posh.
4) The lady in the shop didn’t give me enough ribbon.  I had to re-buy.

Other than that, I was most pleased.
Here it is, buttercreamed:
This was the first coat.  The ‘crumb coat’.  Since then, I have researched perfect buttercream covering and levelling a cake.  Here are two excellent tutorials:
Jenniffer White ‘Cup a Dee Cakes’ 
Nelscakeboutique 
I have truly learnt what I would do differently.

I love making cakes and I desperately need more people to practice on to perfect techniques.  I made this purely for the cost of ingredients – really, to keep honing my skills.  If anybody in the area would allow me to experiment, I’ll more than happily bake you a cake for a contribution towards ingredients!

The Madeira Cake recipe: (8″ round)
350g (12 oz)   unsalted butter
350g (12 oz)   caster sugar
350g (12 oz)    self raising flour
175g (6oz)      plain flour
6     large eggs

* Pre-heat the oven to 160°C/325°F/Gas 3. Grease the cake tin and line it with baking parchment.
* Cream the butter and sugar until light, fluffy and pale. Sift both flours into a separate bowl.
* Beat the eggs into the creamed mixture, one at a time.  Always follow each egg with a spoonful of flour.  This will stop the mixture curdling.
* Sift the remaining flour into the mixture.  Fold it in carefully with a large metal spoon.
* Pour the mixture into the tin and bake for around an hour and a quarter, although mine needed another half an hour.  When the cake is ready it will be well risen, firm to the touch and a skewer inserted into the centre will come out clean.
* Allow the cake to cool. leaving the lining paper on.  Wrap the cake in foil or place in an airtight container for at least 12 hours before decorating.

 

About Scrap Kittie

A sewing and baking addict, vegetarian animal-lover, teacher. And an avid music fan...all the wrong sorts of music. Hence the blog was nearly called 'Hot Cake' after The Fall's song.
This entry was posted in Birthday cakes, Celebration cakes, Chocolate, Icing, Large cakes, Sponge cake, Vanilla cake, White chocolate and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 21st Birthday Cake

  1. You MADE that cake?! Gorgeous!

  2. Gillian says:

    Absolutely amazing Gabs – Fantastic effort. Just for the diary its H’s 18th and my 50th in 2014, and our 20th Wedding Anniversary 2015 – is that enough time to practice???
    ps I like purple 🙂

  3. What a beautiful cake! It sounds delicious with all that white chocolate!

  4. What a wonderful, laborious job! The roses are superb!

Leave a comment